Stihl Timbersports Canadian Championship

Kiss My Axe

It is the 30th anniversary of the Stihl Timbersports Series and the annual lumberjack competition makes its way to Niagara Falls, Ontario with the Eastern Qualifier and the Canadian Championships taking place July 18-19 at the Scotiabank Convention Center.

Sthil Timbersports Canadian Championships

The competition originated in Canada, the United States, and New Zealand with the first-ever Stihl Timbersports Series competition held in 1985. The sport has grown around the world and in Canada where 15 separate competitions are held as part of a national tour that culminates with the Canadian Championships.

Crowning the Canadian Champion

Competitors from across the country compete in a series of six lumberjack disciplines including the springboard chop, hot saw, stock saw, single buck, standing block chop, and underhand chop. The Western Qualifier takes place on June 6-7 in Vancouver. The top four finishers and the best rookie will advance from the Western Qualifier to face the top four and the best rookie from the Eastern Qualifier on July 18. The following day, the competition will decide who will become the 2015 Canadian Champion.

Kiss My Axe

The events--which is branded with the colourful 'Kiss My Axe' tagline--champion will represent the country at the World Championships to be held in November in Innsbruck, Austria. Three additional athletes will be chosen to become part of Team Canada, which will also compete at the team championships in Austria. Canada’s top rookie will compete in the world championship rookie event.

At this year’s Canadian championships, all eyes will be upon Stirling Hart, last year’s Western Qualifier champion who went on to finish fifth at the 2014 World Championships.

Watch the 2015 Stihl Timbersports Series at Niagara Falls Scotiabank Convention Centre, located less than a one minute walk from the Marriott on the Falls. View our:

Niagara Falls Hotel Packages


Scotiabank Convention Centre
6815 Stanley Ave
Niagara Falls